Sooty Chestnut Horses and Silver Gene

larissar
Site Admin
Site Admin
Visit My Farm
Visit My Farm

Sooty Chestnut Horses and Silver Gene

Post by larissar »

I've been a busy little artist over the weekend working on all the layers needed to add in the different manes, tails and feathers.
I've switched back to programmer mode today to add these in but there is one sticking point regarding silver horses.

Quick background on Silver:
Silver is a gene which turns black (and black on bays) into a chocolate colour on the body, and creates a flaxen colouring to the mane and tail. However, it doesn't affect red hairs so the silver gene is hidden on chestnuts.

So a horse requires both the gene for black, and the gene for silver to have any silver effect.

My sticking point relates to Sooty. Sooty is a gene which dumps a lot of dark hairs into the coat of a horse. It can have such a strong effect as to actually turn a Palomino horse into a (nearly) black horse.

Th big question is: Should silver affect sooty, regardless if a horse has the gene for black?

From a programming point of view it's much easier for me to allow silver to affect sooty, and I think it could result in some pretty neat looking horses. From a realistic point of view, I haven't been able to find any conclusive evidence that silver does not react on sooty.

So what are your thoughts?
Argent
Alpha Tester
Alpha Tester
Visit My Farm
Visit My Farm

Re: Sooty Chestnut Horses and Silver Gene

Post by Argent »