Community Forum

Smoky black?

Forum rules
You can link to a horse using our new custom BBCode:
[horse=1234]Horses Name[/horse]
This will display the most recent photo of the horse as well as a link to him.
aersel
Visit My Farm
Visit My Farm

Smoky black?

Post by aersel »

Anyone care to help me figure out what color this guy is? http://www.horseworldonline.net/horse/profile/1892

Sire is perlino and mom appears to be a plain bay. Smoky black was my guess, but I'll admit I'm new to this!
Argent
Alpha Tester
Alpha Tester
Visit My Farm
Visit My Farm

Re: Smoky black?

Post by Argent »

brownskin
Acantha
Visit My Farm
Visit My Farm

Post by Acantha »

I've heard it called Smoky Brown more often than brownskin. IMO, it sounds better too. I have not heard a consensus for brown + 2 cream yet..I've heard Moreno tossed around.
Fuscontidox
Visit My Farm
Visit My Farm

Post by Fuscontidox »

it looks like a seal bay to me
aersel
Visit My Farm
Visit My Farm

Post by aersel »

Interesting! Thanks all. I had never heard of brownskin but smoky brown/brownskin does make sense... and Acantha, I agree that smoky brown sounds better, maybe more P.C. too. :)

Fuscontidox, I had the impression that since the sire is perlino this horse can not be seal brown?
Fuscontidox
Visit My Farm
Visit My Farm

Post by Fuscontidox »

well the dam is a bay, and its not always that certain genes such as pearl are passed. I was just thinking maybe he carries for it but he doesn't really present it, though I could be wrong, but I never thought smokeys to have the lighter rings and spots like a seal has so...
Argent
Alpha Tester
Alpha Tester
Visit My Farm
Visit My Farm

Post by Argent »

More PC? Brown + buckskin = brownskin
Acantha
Visit My Farm
Visit My Farm

Post by Acantha »