Community Forum

Competitive Breeding: A Simplified Look Into Rapidly Improving Competitive Genes

KYTrainer
Premium
Premium
Visit My Farm
Visit My Farm

Competitive Breeding: A Simplified Look Into Rapidly Improving Competitive Genes

Post by KYTrainer »

Competitive Breeding:
A Simplified Look Into Rapidly Improving Competitive Genes

Preface

When I started my quest to breed a record holder with a line I started myself (almost there - 0.5 ft off still), I had a sort of “attack strategy” in mind. I had learned and absorbed so much from other competitors in the community that I felt like I had some strong footing to start on, and I incorporated more of my own ideas. This guide is for the players who may not have that, or may want a more in-depth guide and not want to have to search around for this information.

I ask that if you have anything to add, please do so and if I think it pertains I can add it up here.

History

I started playing this game in late 2018, and for the first year I really didn’t breed competitively. Sure, I entered horses into competitions, and my thoroughbreds had just as good stats on paper as any around, but something was missing. The horses just weren’t getting the fantastic scores of the horses that constantly defeated them.

After cruising the forums and checking out tons of guides, there was one term that was tossed around quite frequently: “Heart.” But was did this mean? Was it a gene, or luck of the draw? How heritable was it? How much of an effect did it truly have on competition?

That’s when BlackOak2 dropped The Hidden Competition Genes: All About Heart. This was the first all inclusive guide to the hidden gene that anyone in the community had seen, and it helped boost my programs significantly. Suddenly, after implementing practices that encouraged the passing of the “heart” gene, my horses were running much, much more competitive times.